聯合國經濟及社會理事會 ECOSOC

幫幫忙基金會是聯合國經濟及社會理事會核准的具有諮商顧問資質的組織
青年大使提名活動
ECOSOC是什麽組織?

洛杉磯縣


The Seal of Los Angeles County幫幫忙基金會是洛杉磯縣多餘物資捐助計劃的參與者. 點擊此處瞭解進一步信息

CA.倉庫收貨資訊

倉庫在本週六,8/19,上午9點至中午開放 Location: 4350 Temple City Blvd. El Monte. CA 91731.

  

<< 感人的故事

Personal Success Stories From El Salvador

薩爾瓦多 -- 職業培訓

bullet電腦學校

this is a photograph of Wendy Lisette Mejia de CarpioWendy Lisette Mejia de Carpio
Wendy Lisette Mejia de Carpio現年24歲,最近剛從Cojutepeque電腦學校畢業。Wendy是一位兩個孩子的母親,她現在可以利用她的電腦技能幫助孩子們做功課。
她對她現在能夠輕鬆地找到一份工作感到非常自信,因為大多數的雇主現在都希望雇用會使用電腦的員工。
Wendy表示,她非常喜歡縫紉學校,因為這個學校是唯一一所為出身貧窮的學生提供學習機會的學校,並且給他們提供免費課程。另外,學生在學校里得到重視,因為學校是想教會學生一種技能,而不在乎你的背景。

她說,“學校里沒有歧視:不受金錢,宗教或政治的影響。

this is a photograph of Iris Lisseth DominguezIris Lisseth Dominguez
Iris Lisseth Dominguez是一名現年25歲的高中學生。Iris來Cojutepeque電腦學校是因為她的學校不開設電腦課程。

來電腦學校之前,Iris需要花高價到網吧去查詢學校作業所需資訊。現在,她可以隨時使用電腦來獨自做研究。Iris說,“我再也不需要依靠他人了,我現在是一個獨立女性!”

this is a photograph of Virginia Jasmin MartinezVirginia Jasmin Martinez
Virginia Jasmin Martinez現年14歲,與母親和祖母生活在一起。

在她就讀的高中,學生們上電腦課需要額外付費。就算學生有能力支付此課程費用,他們一星期只能學1-2小時,並且課程質量沒有保障

Virginia對於能有機會到Cojutepeque電腦學校學習感到非常的興奮,並且她堅信畢業后一定能改善她的就業前景。

很多學生對學習基本的電腦技能充滿熱情,因為雇主們都願意提供全職工作和提高薪酬給那些懂得電腦技術的員工。

bullet烘焙和烹飪學校

this is a photograph of Oscar Armando EnriquezOscar Armando Enriquez
Oscar Armando Enriquez出身于一個單親家庭,現年僅14歲。

Oscar的母親是一名街邊攤販,為了供養孩子和自己,每日在街邊賣蔬菜長達12小時,而Oscar一直渴望著自己能夠幫上母親。希望能夠幫助母親增加收入,Oscar決定參加圣薩爾瓦多職業培訓學校的烹飪課程。

他的目標就是能夠成為一名廚師,能夠幫助母親負擔住房和生活費用。雖然年僅14歲,Oscar已經取得了廚師文憑,並且又參加了電腦課程。他週末向鄰里街坊出售他做的菜肴,以此補充母親的收入,並且能夠練習自己的烹飪手藝。Oscar希望能夠取得高中文憑,並且他繼續到烹飪學校學習以期能夠成為一名廚師,進而開創自己的生意。

this is a photograph of Magdalena FloresJulio and Magdalena Flores
Magdalena de Flores和丈夫Julio Antonio Flores是一對有兩個孩子的年輕夫婦。

在沒有參加圣薩爾瓦多職業培訓學校的職業培訓課程以前,夫妻倆都沒工作也無收入。因為他們兩個人高中就輟學了,並且沒有什麼可用技能,找工作對於他們來說非常困難。

Magdalena是學校第一名參加烹飪課程的學生。有時她感到困難,因為偶爾她來上課時還要帶著她剛出生的孩子。Magdalena拿到文憑后,在當地一個名為“ Panadería San Martín,”的專門製作麵包和蛋糕的烘焙店找到了一個工作。

Magdalena 的丈夫Julio接著就報名參加了“金屬結構”類建築課程。Julio作為最優秀學員之一從學校畢業,而現在正在為一名獨立建築師工作,這位建築師給予他能夠在“金屬結構”方面工作的機會。Julio與Magdalena二人對於那些幫助他們學習技術,使他們最終能夠找到工作并能贍養家庭的人表示由衷的感激。

現在,夫妻兩人都在工作,Julio和Magdalena抓住了機會,可以給他們的孩子們更好的生活、醫療保健和教育。

this is a photograph of Vladimir Valle GarciVladimir Valle Garci
Vladimir Valle Garci是拉利伯塔德職業培訓學校的一名校友。

Vladimir曾經營一間小雜貨店,直到一些當地的犯罪分子強迫他每月交3000美元,造成他的生意失敗。他聽說了職業培訓學校,並且決定去學習烘焙。畢業後,Vladimir和妻子在拉利伯塔德開辦了一間小麵包店。

他在學校學會製做的一種麵包,填有雞肉和蔬菜,非常可口,在拉利伯塔德非常受歡迎,他的麵包店也因此成為現今小鎮里最大的麵包店。
Vladimir非常的感激職業培訓學校,並且願意與他人分享自己的成功經驗。每當有窮人來向他索要食物時,他都很樂意幫助他們。
他還把他的麵包店開放給正在職業培訓學校就讀的學生們,這樣他們可以獲得實習經驗。

Vladimir說,“ 我非常幸運能夠去貴校學習。現在我應報答,謝謝。”

this is a photograph of Karina PerezKarina Zuleyma Juarez Perez
Karina Zuleyma Juarez Perez是一位經歷過極度困境的單親母親,因為她沒有收入,也不能從家庭里得到經濟支援。由於Karina沒有技術也沒有高中文憑,找工作非常困難。

當她一聽說圣薩爾瓦多職業培訓學校的消息後,就立刻報名參加了烹飪課程。她有一個女兒,這使她很難參加所有的課程,但是Karina竭盡全力,最終成功的取得了廚師文憑。現在,她在一家小的地方餐廳工作,賺取的最低工資可以幫她支付她和孩子兩個人的食物,醫藥和衣服。

Karina為自己能夠成為一名可以供養家庭的獨立女性感到十分自豪,感謝職業培訓學校的幫助。

bulletCosmetology School

this is a photograph of Elsy MarroquinElsy Marroquin
Elsy Marroquin是一位33歲,有兩個孩子的母親,她現在是拉利伯塔德“Aileen美容沙龍”的驕傲的擁有人。

Elsy曾是一名美髮師助手,但是失業后的兩年都沒有找到工作。在這期間,只有靠他丈夫一個人來供養家庭,他們生活在貧困中。

她聽說了有關拉利伯塔德職業培訓學校的消息后,爲了提高自己的美容技能申請報名參加美容課程。當Elsy收到自己被錄取的消息后,她感到非常的開心和興奮,並且下決心一定要學好。

畢業后,她開辦了自己的沙龍,現在能夠為客人提供多種服務。她現在每天服務約20位客人,平均每天收入40美元,好的時候高達150美元。由於薩爾瓦多的每月最低工資為大約250美元,Elsy已成為供養家庭的主力。

bullet縫紉學校

this is a photograph of Maria Carmen Romero JauaiMaria Carmen Romero Jauai
Maria Carmen Romero Jauai是一位年近60的老年婦女,她參加拉利伯塔德職業培訓學校是為了提高她的縫紉和裁剪技巧。
Maria生活在拉利伯塔德一個非常小的房子里,在家裡,她需要照顧自己90歲高齡的母親,還有她的丈夫和兒子。她的丈夫是一位漁民,但是他的收入太低,無法供養整個家庭。

當Maria聽到有關學校的消息後,她決定抓住這次學習機會。她學習非常努力,並且是縫紉班里最優秀的學生。畢業后,Mario強迫自己克服害羞這一弱點在周邊的每個店面尋找與縫紉相關的工作。
如今,她每個月能為大約7名客人製作服裝,所賺取的工資能夠讓全家吃好并能獲得醫療服務。Mario的收入還能夠支付兒子去上學的費用。

老年中心

bullet拉利伯塔德老年中心(La Libertad Senior Center)

this is a photograph of Ms. Ernestina Soriano GomezErnestina Soriano Gomez 女士
Ernestina Soriano Gomez女士年紀78歲,她有10個孩子死於傷寒病,她又在家庭暴力中失去了其他的孩子。其中一個女兒被她的丈夫所殺,因為她丈夫不同意她成為基督徒。

Ernestina說,“我生了14個孩子並且收養了2個孩子,我埋葬了他們所有人。我有14個兄弟,他們也全部都去世了”。

Ernestina說他自己很幸運,能夠教育和愛護兩個被她收養的孩子,一個孩子是孤兒,另一個是被遺棄的孩子。第一個孩子自從8歲起就和她生活在一起,直到17歲,被招募到軍隊。她所收養的兒子移民到美國,最終在那裡離開人世。Ernestina收養的第二個孩子死於傷寒。事實上,她所有的孩子中只有一個在傷寒病中倖存,一直活到40歲,但是有一天突然死亡。Ernestina說,自她埋葬最後一個孩子至今,已經9年了。

除了這所有的困難之外,Ernestina悲傷的說道:“有一天,我和我的丈夫在等公車,有一輛車在倒車的時候壓到我的腳,導致我終身殘廢。三個想要搶劫我錢財的男人襲擊了我。其中一個狠狠的襲擊了我的右眼,使得我終身失明。我一直與丈夫生活在一起,直到他得了重病。照顧他一直到去世的護士給了我一個住處,我在那裡生活很開心。而那個房子在2001年一場大地震中被摧毀,然後那位護士把我帶到了幫幫忙基金會老年中心。在這裡,我生活很安逸。”

bulletLourdes Colon Senior Center 2

this is a photograph of Lucas PerezLucas Perez
Lucas Perez,一位來自Zacatecoluca市92歲的高齡老人,現居住在薩爾瓦多第二老年中心,說道(聲音略帶悲傷):

“我從不懂得什麽是家庭。我從小由一位哥哥撫養長大,他在我12歲的時候把我從Zacatecoluca帶到拉利伯塔德。我從未感受過父愛和母愛。在當時的年紀我就從事繁重的建築工作。有一天,一場意外使我的背部骨折,從而導致我擁有孩子和家庭的希望完全破滅。我繼續從事著建築工人的工作。有一天,雇用我的那個人利用了我,并不給我工錢。我從未獲得過薪水,他欺騙了我。由於無人照顧,老年中心一建成,我就住了進來。在這裡我可以睡覺、吃飯,還有享受愛心照顧。

 

來自Victoria Recinos的感謝信(原件) (原件)

來自Ramón Antonio Orellana Velásquez的感謝信 (原件)

United Nations ECOSOC

SimplyHelp has Consultative Status with the Economic & Social Council of the United Nations.
2014 Youth Ambassadors Nomination Activities
What is ECOSOC?

County Of Los Angeles

The Seal of Los Angeles CountyOur organization participates in the Surplus Property Donation Program of the County of Los Angeles. Click For More Information

CA. Warehouse Info.

Warehouse opens on this Saturday, 8/19, from 9am to noon. Location: 4350 Temple City Blvd. El Monte. CA 91731.

Personal Success Stories From El Salvador

Vocational Training

bulletComputer School

this is a photograph of Wendy Lisette Mejia de CarpioWendy Lisette Mejia de Carpio
Wendy Lisette Mejia de Carpio is 24 years old and recently graduated from The Cojutepeque Computer School. Wendy is a mother of two and can now use her computer skills to help them with their homework.

She is confident that she’ll have a much easier time finding a job now because almost all employers are looking for people with computer skills.

Wendy says she likes the School very much because it’s the only school that gives people from low economic backgrounds opportunities to learn by providing classes for free.
Additionally, students are treated well at the school because the focus is on teaching a skill; not about your background.

She says, “This school does not discriminate: Money, religion or politics do not play a role.”

this is a photograph of Iris Lisseth DominguezIris Lisseth Dominguez
Iris Lisseth Dominguez is a 25 year old high school student. Iris came to the Cojutepeque Computer School because her school did not offer computer classes.

Before coming to the computer school, Iris had to go to local cyber cafes that charged her high fees to find information for school projects. Now, she can access a computer and do research herself. Iris says, “I’m no longer dependent on others; I’m an independent woman now!”

this is a photograph of Virginia Jasmin MartinezVirginia Jasmin Martinez
Virginia Jasmin Martinez is 14-years-old and lives with her mother and grandmother.

In her high school, students have to pay extra for computer classes. Even if a student is able to pay for the classes, they only get 1-2 hours per-week of instruction, and the quality of the classes is sub-standard.

Virginia is excited to have the opportunity to learn at the Cojutepeque Computer School, and is confident it will improve her job prospects once she graduates.

Many students are eager to learn basic computer skills because employers are willing to offer full-time jobs and pay increases to those who have learned those skills.

bulletBaking And Culinary Schools

this is a photograph of Oscar Armando EnriquezOscar Armando Enriquez
Oscar Armando Enriquez comes from a single-parent home and is only 14 years old.

Oscar has always had a strong desire to help his mother, who works as a street vendor selling vegetables 12-hours daily in order to provide for her and her son. Hoping to supplement his mother’s income, Oscar decided to enroll in cooking classes at the Vocational Training School in San Salvador.

His goal has been to work as a chef to help his mother pay for the house and living expenses. At only 14 years-of-age, Oscar has already obtained his diploma in cooking and has also enrolled in computer classes. He practices his cooking skills and supplements his family’s income by selling prepared dishes in his neighborhood on the weekends. Oscar hopes to obtain his high-school diploma and continue onto culinary school in order to become a chef and start his own business.

this is a photograph of Magdalena FloresJulio and Magdalena Flores
Magdalena de Flores and her husband, Julio Antonio Flores, are a very young couple who have two children.

Before they enrolled in the vocational classes at the Vocational Training School in San Salvador, they were both unemployed and had no income. Since they both dropped out of high school and had no marketable skills, it was very difficult for them to find jobs.

Magdalena was the first to attend the cooking classes at the school. At times, she found it difficult since occasionally she had to bring her newborn baby to school while taking classes. After she got her diploma, Magdalena found a job in a local bakery, called “ Panadería San Martín,” that specializes in making bread and cakes.

Julio, Magdalena’s husband, was next to enroll in an architect class for “Metallic Structure.” Julio graduated as one of the top students in his class, and now works for an independent architect who has given him the opportunity to work in metallic structure. Both Julio and Magdalena are very thankful to all those who made it possible for them to learn skills that ultimately helped them find jobs and provide for their family.

Now that both of them are working, Julio and Magdalena have the opportunity to give their children better lives, healthcare and education.

this is a photograph of Vladimir Valle GarciVladimir Valle Garci
Vladimir Valle Garci is an alumnus of the Vocational Training School in La Libertad.

Vladimir used to own a small general store until local criminals forced him to pay $3000/month, causing his business to fail. He heard about the vocational training school, and decided to learn baking. Upon graduating, Vladimir and his wife opened a small bakery in La Libertad.

One of the breads he learned to make at the school – a delicious bread filled with chicken and vegetables – has become so popular in La Libertad that his bakery is now the biggest bakery in town!

Vladimir is incredibly grateful to the vocational training school, and shares his fortune with others. Whenever poor people come to ask for food, he is always willing to help them out.

He has also opened his bakery to current students at the Vocational Training School so that they may get some real-world experience.

Vladimir says, “I’ve been blessed by being able to go to your school. Now I’m ‘paying it forward.’ Thank you.”

this is a photograph of Karina PerezKarina Zuleyma Juarez Perez
Karina Zuleyma Juarez Perez was a single mother going through a very difficult situation since she had no income and could not rely on her family for economic assistance. Karina found it very difficult to find a job since she had no skills or high school diploma.

When she heard about the Vocational Training School in San Salvador, she immediately enrolled in cooking classes.

The fact that she had a daughter made it difficult to attend all the classes, but Karina made the effort and finally graduated with her diploma in cooking. Now, she works at a small local food cafeteria and earns a minimum wage that helps pay for food, medicine and clothing for both her daughter and herself.

Karina is proud to be an independent woman who can provide for her family, thanks to the support of the Vocational Training School.

bulletCosmetology School

this is a photograph of Elsy MarroquinElsy Marroquin
Elsy Marroquin is a 33 year- old mother of two children and the proud owner of “Beauty Salon Aileen” in La Libertad.

Elsy was a hairdresser’s assistant but lost her job and remained unemployed for almost 2 years. During this time, her husband was the only provider for the family, and they lived in poverty.

She heard about the Vocational Training School in La Libertad and applied for the beauty classes in hopes of improving her skills. When Elsy heard she was accepted, she was incredibly happy and excited, and set to work on learning.

Upon graduation she opened her own salon and now offers her clients a wide variety of services. She helps about 20 customers per day and earns, on average, $40/day to as much as $150 on a good day. Since the minimum income in El Salvador is approximately $250/month, Elsy has become the main provider for her family.

bulletTailoring School

this is a photograph of Maria Carmen Romero JauaiMaria Carmen Romero Jauai
Maria Carmen Romero Jauai, an older woman of approximately 60 years old, came to the Vocational Training School in La Libertad to improve her sewing and tailoring skills.

Maria lives in a very small, home in La Libertad, where she takes care of her 90- year- old mother, husband and son. Her husband is a fisherman, but his income is too low to take care of the entire family.

When Maria heard about the school she decided to take advantage of the opportunity to learn. She worked very hard and was the best student in her tailoring class. Once she graduated, Maria forced herself to overcome her shyness by seeking a tailoring job at every establishment in her neighborhood.

Today she makes clothes for about 7 people each month and earns an income that allows her entire family to eat well and obtain medical care. Maria’s income has also allowed for her son to attend school.

Senior Centers

bulletLa Libertad Senior Center

this is a photograph of Ms. Ernestina Soriano GomezMs. Ernestina Soriano Gomez
Ms. Ernestina Soriano Gomez is 78 years old and lost ten of her children to typhoid fever and her others due to domestic violence. One daughter was killed by her husband because he did not agree with her decision to become a Christian.

Ernestina says, “I gave birth to 14 children and adopted two. I have buried all of them…I had 14 brothers and all of them are dead.”

Ernestina says she was blessed to educate and care for two adopted children, one an orphan and the other abandoned. The first child was with her since he was 8 days old until he was 17, when the army recruited him. Her adopted son immigrated to the United States where he eventually passed away. Ernestina’s second adopted child died of typhoid fever. In fact, only one of her sons was able to survive the fever, reaching 40 years old, but dying suddenly one day. Ernestina says it’s been 9 years since she buried him, the last of her children.

In addition to all of this hardship, Ernestina relates with sadness: “One day I was with my husband waiting for the bus, and a car that was backing up hit my foot, leaving me crippled for life. Three men, who wanted to take my money, attacked me. One of them hit me hard in the right eye, leaving me blind for life. I lived with my husband until he became very ill. The nurse that took care of him until he passed away gave me a place to live, and I was happy there. That house was destroyed by the earthquake in 2001, and the nurse brought me to the SimplyHelp elderly center. Here I have lived peacefully.”

bulletLourdes Colon Senior Center 2

this is a photograph of Lucas PerezLucas Perez
Living in the second senior center in El Salvador is an elderly man named Lucas Perez, aged 92 years, from the city of Zacatecoluca. He explains (with some bitterness in his voice):

“I don’t know any family. I was raised by an older brother who brought me from Zacatecoluca to La Libertad when I was 12 years old. I did not know love from my father or mother. At this age I performed very heavy construction jobs. One day I had an accident that fractured my back, which stole from me any possibility of having children or a family. I continued my work as a construction worker. One day, the man I worked for took advantage of me by not paying me for my work. I never received a salary; he cheated me. I’ve been in the senior center since it was built, since I don’t have anyone to care for me. Here I can have a place to sleep, eat and be taken care of with love.”

 

Letter Of Thanks: Victoria Recinos (original letter)

Letter Of Thanks: Ramón Antonio Orellana Velásquez (original letter)